Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Sweet Talk with the Sweet Sixteens: October 11th

Welcome to Week Forty-One of Sweet Talk with the Sweet Sixteens! To see more details about Sweet Talk as well as previous posts, see the introduction post. Thanks to Charlene (Bookish Whimsy), for designing the banner and button for Sweet Talk.

Today, I'm featuring the authors and books publishing during the week of October 11th!

The Questions:

1. Describe your debut novel in sixteen words.
2. Pitch your book! For fans of _____, _____ meets _____, etc.
3. What are you working on now – is it related to your debut novel?

The Authors:

Sarah Glenn Marsh, Author of Fear the Drowning Deep

1. A girl faces her greatest fear--the ocean--to protect those she loves from watery graves.

2. For fans of The Scorpio Races, and those who like their history with a sprinkling of unusual mythology and sea monsters.

3. My next project is unrelated to Fear the Drowning Deep; it's called Reign of the Fallen, and is the first in a YA epic fantasy duology with Razorbill. It's about a bi necromancer badass of a heroine who must decide whether to save or help destroy the change-averse nation crumbling around her.

Follow Sarah Glenn Marsh: Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Pinterest
Find Fear the Drowning Deep: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | The Book Depository

S.A. Larsen, Author of Motley Education

1. A misfit medium learns self-acceptance and friendship while breathing life into a dead spirit world.

2. Motley Education is Keeper of the Lost Cities running amuck with The Blackwell Pages in a boneyard of spirited friendships, skull-fuls of humor, and corpse-raising adventure.

3. I'm currently working on book two of the Motley Education series. Think Sleeping Beauty crossed with Sleepy Hollow ... and zombies.

Follow S.A. Larsen: Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

Tricia Clasen, Author of The Haunted House Project

1. Andie pretends to be her mother's ghost in order to remind her family how to live.

2. For fans of Counting By 7's and The Thing About Fish.

3. I'm revising a manuscript about an imaginary friend who becomes real, and I began a story about what happens when a girl's wishes come true ... for other people. 

Follow Tricia Clasen: Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter
Find The Haunted House Project: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | The Book Depository

Karen Fortunati, Author of The Weight of Zero

1. A realistic, honest and hopeful portrayal of one girl's high school experience complicated by mental illness. 

2. [Edited response by Alyssa -- the author was stumped! In my opinion, this book must be incredibly unique.] =)

3. A young adult novel about mental illness through the eyes of a sibling.

Follow Karen Fortunati: Website | GoodreadsTwitter
Find The Weight of Zero: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | The Book Depository

The Books:


(Click on the covers to go to Goodreads!)

Other Sweet Sixteens Books Publishing This Week:

(Click on the cover to go to Goodreads!)

The Giveaway:

- Resurrecting Sunshine swag
- A Tail of Camelot necklaces
- Motley Education swag
- Finished copy of Fear the Drowning Deep
- Finished copy of The Haunted House Project
- ARC of The Weight of Zero
- Finished copy of From the Grave
- Finished copy of Lou Lou and Pea and the Mural Mystery

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. I have heard only amazing things about The Weight of Zero, and I am eager to read it myself.

  2. The Haunted House Project sounds very unique and I love the cover so I'm looking forward to reading this book.

  3. I so want to read The Weight of Zero! I hadn't heard of it before but now it's added to my GR! I want to read Fear the Drowning Deep but I'm such a scaredy cat so I feel like I won't sleep at night lol
    Genesis @ Latte Nights Reviews

  4. Ooh, you just added three books to my TBR list! Thanks so much for sharing and the giveaway!

  5. I want to read ALL of these! The Weight of Zero sounds like a book that teens can relate to. Pinning these.

  6. I'm looking forward to reading Fear the Drowning Deep, I really enjoy reading mythological books 😊

  7. I'm looking forward to Fear the Drowning Deep. The other books look great also!

  8. I'm so excited about this book! Fear The Drowning Deep sounds amazing, and if she recommend it for fans of TSR, I'm totally in!

  9. I'm looking forward to all of them, but in particular, Fear the Drowning Deep.

  10. I'm really looking forward to The Weight of Zero! Iron Cast is a really good read, but I had a couple of problems with it.

  11. I feel a bit sad that I didn't want to read any of these books, lol. But they do look pretty awesome even so :D And as always, your promo post is beyond gorgeous. <3 Thank you for sharing Alyssa :)


I love comments! I will always try and reply to your comments, as well as leave some comment love on your blog! :)

Also, this an award and tag free blog. While I am flattered that you would think of me, I really do not have the time to follow up. Thank you!