Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Sweet Talk with the Sweet Sixteens: March 1st

Welcome to Week Nine of Sweet Talk with the Sweet Sixteens! To see more details about Sweet Talk as well as previous posts, see the introduction post. Thanks to Charlene (Bookish Whimsy), for designing the banner and button for Sweet Talk.

Today, I'm featuring the authors and books publishing during the week of March 1st!

The Questions:

1. Describe your debut novel in sixteen words.
2. Pitch your book! For fans of _____, _____ meets _____, etc.
3. What are you working on now – is it related to your debut novel?

The Authors:

Ava Jae, Author of Beyond the Red

1. A violent uprising on a distant, alien planet threatens the reign of a teen alien queen.

2. For fans of THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS and ACROSS THE UNIVERSE comes a story about betrayal, love, and loss—all on a technologically advanced alien planet where monarchy reigns, but lies rule.

3. I'm currently working on revisions for a YA Fantasy project that is 100% unrelated to BEYOND THE RED. I hope I get to share it with you guys one day! :)

Follow Ava Jae: Blog | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

Shannon M. Parker, Author of The Girl Who Fell

1. In which a high school senior mistakes her boyfriend's physical and emotional attentions as love. 

2. For fans of contemporary YA with feminist themes.

3. Another YA Contemp, due out in 2017!

Follow Shannon Parker: Website | GoodreadsTwitter | Instagram
Find The Girl Who Fell: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | The Book Depository

K.C. Held, Author of Holding Court

1. A rollicking romantic mystery featuring a blurting girl, an unattainable boy, and a disappearing dead body.

2. For fans of the Stars Hollow feel of Gilmore Girls, the interconnected affect of Amélie, and the impossible romance and quirky characters of Pushing Daisies. 

3. It is not related to my debut novel. But it is a mystery. :)

Follow K.C. Held: Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter
Find Holding Court: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | The Book Depository

Robin Yardi, Author of The Midnight War of Mateo Martinez

1. Mateo Martinez must wage a midnight neighborhood war when two skunks steal his little sister's trike!

2. For fans of THE HOBOKEN CHICKEN EMERGENCY, FLORA & ULYSSES, and THE MOUSE AND THE MOTORCYCLE, this contemporary tale with a touch of fantasy is a perfect fit for readers ready for a stinky skunk filled quest!

3. Impulsive, intelligent, and passionate, Colorado Sky Jukes is an outlaw obsessed third grader who just keeps messing up!

Follow Robin Yardi: Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter
Find The Midnight War of Mateo Martinez: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | The Book Depository

The Books:



(Click on the cover to go to Goodreads!)

Other Sweet Sixteens Books Publishing This Week:



(Click on the cover to go to Goodreads!)

The Giveaway:

- Beyond the Red swag
- The Girl Who Fell swag
- Holding Court swag
I Woke Up Dead at the Mall swag
- Save Me, Kurt Cobain swag
- The Serpent King swag
The Midnight War of Mateo Martinez swag


  1. I'm excited to read Beyond The Red!

  2. Beyond the Red and The Girl Who Fell look great! I want to read a lot of these books on here. :D :D

  3. Those books sound great! I'm most excited about The Girl Who Fell, I've read some good reviews about it.

  4. Yes to all those books! I am really excited about Beyond the Red and The Girl Who Fell. Too many good books =)

  5. The Girl Who Fell is one that I'm looking forward to reading!

  6. YAY Shannon has another contemporary coming out!!I really enjoyed The Girl Who Fell, I can't wait for Burning Glass #2 as well as ASIC#2 since those were great imo. :)

    Rachel @A Perfection Called Books

  7. I love that you are doing this every week Alyssa. <3 Yay! You are awesome :) Sadly, I don't think any of these books are for me, but they do seem interesting, even so :) Thank you for sharing about them. <3

  8. Excited about The Girl Who Fell! The cover is excellent!

  9. I'm most excited about The Girl who Fell.

  10. I'm most excited about The Girl who Fell.

  11. I am most excited about Beyond the Red! I love sci-fi and definitely want to see YA moving more in that direction! I am also interested in the "feminist themes" of The Girl Who Fell, because it is really difficult to find feminism in contemporary YA.

  12. Looking forward to reading Holding Court. I really like Pushing Daisies.

  13. I'm looking forward to reading Holding Court, I just like mysterious. Beyond the Red sounds good too.:-) :-)

  14. I've heard a lot about Beyond the Red and Into The Dim. Looking forward to their release


I love comments! I will always try and reply to your comments, as well as leave some comment love on your blog! :)

Also, this an award and tag free blog. While I am flattered that you would think of me, I really do not have the time to follow up. Thank you!