Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday (#257): A Thousand Beginnings and Endings


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


This week, I'm featuring:


A Thousand Beginnings and Endings
Publisher Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: June 26, 2017

Summary (from Goodreads):

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries. 

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate. 

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renee Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong. 

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.



Asian stories written by Asian authors? This Asian girl is very, very excited. I'm not usually one for anthologies but I will definitely by reading this one next year. =)

28 comments:

  1. Oh neat! I would definitely read this one.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oooh I'm intrigued! I love a good fairy tale retelling! That and creepy tales are the only anthologies I read these days! I used to love reading them personally, but that was wayyy back then when I didn't have a TBR pile or know what a TBR pile was! Not sure if I miss those days or not. Really it depends on the day! Lol!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know what you mean! I actually never liked anthologies but the ones from the last year or so have been great. ^_^

      Delete
  3. Oooh! This sounds like an interesting book! Great pick!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  4. Whoa, that cover! This is new to me, so thank you for introducing it, I will definitely keep my eye out for it๐Ÿ˜

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love the cover too! Definitely shelf-worthy. :D

      Delete
  5. Anthologies are usually hit or miss for me but this one seems worth trying! Awesome pick, Alyssa! I hope you love it.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm like you Alyssa, I've only read a handful of anthologies, and to be honest I've not had the best of luck with them, but this book sounds fantastic! such a great pick! And thank you for putting it on my radar! :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. This was almost my pick for this week! Ha! I'm so excited for this book and the cover is just so beautiful.

    Thanks for sharing,
    ~Brittany @ Brittany's Book Rambles

    ReplyDelete
  8. Going to have to buy this one too. I keep wondering why there aren't that many Asian authors that I've read (I'm mixed!) :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I feel ya! It's nice to see some good rep. ^_^

      Delete
  9. This one sounds interesting. I struggle a little with anthologies I end up judging each author.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You and me both! Anthologies are hit or miss for me. But I'm hoping this anthology is great!

      Delete
  10. This is totally new to me. I enjoy anthologies, so I'll have to check this out. I hope you enjoy reading it.
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  11. OH I FORGOT ABOUT THIS. I am here for this!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Wow, this one sounds really good! Another one for my YA tbr, thanks! :D

    P.S. This Asian girl is also very excited about more Asian authors!

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
  13. I hadn't even heard about this one!!!!!!!!!!! Awesome. Another one for the TBR.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Great pick! I love the sound of this one. I hope you enjoy it, Alyssa. :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. Oh, I forgot about this one. I heard about it on Twitter awhile ago, but then it kind of dropped off my radar. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  16. Oh this sounds amazing! I haven't heard about it before, but I'm definitely adding it to my TBR.

    ReplyDelete
  17. Awesome pick Alyssa :D I do think this looks and sounds gorgeous. Hope you will love the stories a bunch. <3

    ReplyDelete

I love comments! I will always try and reply to your comments, as well as leave some comment love on your blog! :)

Also, this an award and tag free blog. While I am flattered that you would think of me, I really do not have the time to follow up. Thank you!