Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Book Blitz and Giveaway: Some Boys by Patty Blount

Welcome to the book blitz for Some Boys by Patty Blount! In case you didn't already know, I'm a huge fan of this lady and her books. I've beta-read both TMI and Some Boys, and loved both. Coming from the girl who doesn't always enjoy contemporary - specifically, tough-issue novels!

Praise for Some Boys!

YA author, Patty Blount, is back with another  novel that addresses one of today’s most pressing issues facing today's youth. SOME BOYS is a gutwrenching and edgy love story told from alternating points of view that's perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles and Katie McGarry.

"SOME BOYS belongs in every YA collection." - School Library Journal

"5 stars. Very well-deserved! This book did quite a number on me - unlike most books (contemporary or not), this one made me FEEL, and feel really strongly." - The Eater of Books


Some Boys by Patty Blount
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: August 5, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads):

Some boys go too far. Some boys will break your heart. But one boy can make you whole.

When Grace meets Ian she's afraid. Afraid he'll reject her like the rest of the school, like her own family. After she accuses the town golden boy of rape, everyone turns against Grace. They call her a slut and a liar. But...Ian doesn't. He's funny and kind with secrets of his own.

But how do you trust the best friend of the boy who raped you? How do you believe in love?

A gut-wrenching, powerful love story told from alternating points of view by the acclaimed author of Send.

About the Author:

In addition to writing novels for teens, Patty Blount writes technical information for a computer company. Her first novel, Send, was inspired after a manager suggested she learn more about social networks. A short version of that same novel finished in the top ten of the Writer's Digest 79th Annual Writing Competition. She is also the author of the young adult book, TMI. She lives on Long Island with her family. Visit her at

The Excerpt:

He tugs me closer. “How are you gonna hurt me when I've got your hands trapped?”

I go completely still. Ian Russell is holding my hands. Ian Russell is holding my hands. And there’s no pressure in my chest, and I haven’t warped back in time to the moment when I knew I couldn't stop Zac from taking what he wanted from me. Jesus, a boy is touching me, and it’s kind of okay. And for maybe the first time in forty days, I laugh.

“What’s so funny?” He looks at me sideways.

“Glad you asked.” I grin. Since he’s on the floor and I’m not, all it takes is a simple shift of my weight, and a second later I've broken out of his hold and have him pinned.

“Impressive. Ow. Very impressive. Ow. I’ll applaud once you let me go.”
“Stop crying.”

“I will when you let me go.”

I should probably let him go.

But I don’t.

My heart’s racing from the power trip of taking Ian down, or maybe it’s just because I’m so close to him and thought this was over for me. His muscles go lax. He stops struggling, and I don’t let go. I want to freeze this moment and keep it—keep him—forever. Slowly he leans in closer and closer, and I still don’t let go. His eyes drop to my mouth, and his tongue darts out to lick his lips. I think he wants to kiss me, and damn it, I want him to—I want him to so badly I almost cry, so I don’t let go. Closer, closer, and his eyes shut, and his head tilts. And I don’t let go. His lips touch mine, and he kisses me like it matters—like I matter—and oh, my God, it’s amazing. He’s amazing, and I don’t let go. And then the steel door on the floor below us screeches open, and Ian goes tense, his eyes darting to the stairs at the far end of the hall. And it hits me.

Ian doesn’t want anyone to see him with the school slut.

So I break our No Zac agreement. “You wanna know why I didn't fight off Zac? Because I was unconscious.”

Ian’s eyes snap to mine and then away, but it’s too late. I already saw the disgust in them.

This is when I let him go.

The Giveaway:


    I have this one already on my Kindle library cause I preordered after reading your review! Hopefully I'll get to reading it soon!

    1. OMG I WAS LIKE O_O In the best of ways ;) I hope you enjoy it when you read it, Pili!!

  2. Congrats on the quote! Obviously, I now have to read it :)


I love comments! I will always try and reply to your comments, as well as leave some comment love on your blog! :)

Also, this an award and tag free blog. While I am flattered that you would think of me, I really do not have the time to follow up. Thank you!