Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Sweet Talk with the Sweet Sixteens: November 8th

Welcome to Week Forty-Five of Sweet Talk with the Sweet Sixteens! To see more details about Sweet Talk as well as previous posts, see the introduction post. Thanks to Charlene (Bookish Whimsy), for designing the banner and button for Sweet Talk.

Today, I'm featuring the authors and books publishing during the week of November 8th!

The Questions:

1. Describe your debut novel in sixteen words.
2. Pitch your book! For fans of _____, _____ meets _____, etc.
3. What are you working on now – is it related to your debut novel?

The Authors:

Gordon Jack, Author of The Boomerang Effect

1. Stoner tries to turn his life around by mentoring a freshman and nearly destroys the school.

2. For fans of I Love You, Beth Cooper. Me.  The Haters meets The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks 

3. I'm working on another YA novel about a different high school tradition - the student government election. This time the event is nearly destroyed by smart and ambitious people, rather than slackers who smoke a lot of pot.

Follow Gordon Jack: Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter
Find The Boomerang Effect: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | The Book Depository

Tara Sim, Author of Timekeeper

1. An alternate Victorian world where time is literally run by clock towers. Magic, boys, explosions, shenanigans.

2. For fans of Victoria Schwab and Cassandra Clare.

3. The sequels to Timekeeper, as well as a new fantasy series that's Pirates of the Caribbean meets Avatar: the Last Airbender.

Follow Tara Sim: Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

The Books:


(Click on the cover to go to Goodreads!)

Other Sweet Sixteens Books Publishing This Week:

Those are the only two!

The Giveaway:

- Finished copy of The Friendship Experiment
- Copy of The Boomerang Effect
- Flashfall swag
- Of Fire and Stars swag
- Girls in the Moon swag


  1. I already had The Boomerang Effect on my TBR. It sounds great.

  2. I've read Timekeeper and it was a lovely sweet story. I will have to check out The Boomerang Effect but YA Contemporary isn't normally my jam.

    Hope you're having a nice week!

  3. I'm waiting on The Boomerang Effect. The character and description from the author tell me this is going to have humor that I will enjoy reading.

  4. The The Boomerang Effect looks really good! Great picks!

  5. Timekeeper! I read a great review that Tracy wrote and ever since, I've had my eye on it.

  6. I would love to read The Boomerang Effect. You know what they say about good deeds not going unpunished!

  7. Timekeeper is on my tbr for sure. It sounds great!! 😀😀

  8. Both sound good, but I guess I'd prefer Timekeeper because of the stakes.

  9. Timekeeper has that steam punk feel that I'm into, I'm sure I'll enjoy it :-) :-)

  10. I'd love to read Timekeeper. I love the Victorian era.

  11. Lovely post Alyssa. <3 Thank you for sharing about these two books and authors :D Don't know the authors, but the books do look pretty. Maybe for me one day ;p


I love comments! I will always try and reply to your comments, as well as leave some comment love on your blog! :)

Also, this an award and tag free blog. While I am flattered that you would think of me, I really do not have the time to follow up. Thank you!