Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Blog Tour Guest Post with Lindsay Cummings, Author of The Murder Complex (and GIVEAWAY!)

Welcome to the blog tour of The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings! I reviewed this book already, so today, I'm featuring the author herself. Here is your chance to learn more about the book, and enter to win!

How did Lindsay Cummings choose names for characters?

I absolutely love choosing character names. For me, it’s always a HUGE deal. I can’t start writing a story unless I have the character’s name picked out. It’s like their identity, and without it, I can’t seem to figure out how to make them work. I love to look at baby name websites. I’ll sit there for hours, combing through thousands of names, until the right one hits me. For Meadow in The Murder Complex, I wanted a really soft, delicate name to completely contradict her character. Her name always stuck. Zephyr was harder. I wanted something soft but still powerful, the same to match how his character completely switches at different times in the book (spoiler I can’t share!). For minor characters, I just love to go through and pick out a crazy unique name, and I build a character to fit it!

About the Author:

Lindsay Cummings is the 20-year-old author of THE MURDER COMPLEX, as well as its sequel, coming 2014 from Greenwillow Books/HarperCollins, and the MG trilogy THE BALANCE KEEPERS, coming Fall 2014 from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins.

Lindsay deals with chronic fatigue, can’t get enough of her two pesky German Shepherds, wolf cub, and two horses. She's still waiting on her letter from Hogwarts--it was probably just lost in the mail. You can follow Lindsay on twitter @lindsaycwrites.

About The Murder Complex:

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings
Book One of The Murder Complex series
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: June 10, 2014

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

About The Fear Trials:

The Fear Trials by Lindsay Cummings
Book 0.5 of The Murder Complex series
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: June 3, 2014

Meadow Woodson has been trained to survive. This is a prequel to The Murder Complex, by Lindsay Cummings, and it is set in a blood-soaked world where the murder rate is higher than the birth rate. For fans of Moira Young's Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson's father calls it The Fear Trials, and it is a rite of passage in their family. Meadow is up against her brother Koi. The Fear Trials will both harden her and make her brave. If Meadow wins, she will get a weapon of her own and the right to leave the Woodsons' houseboat without her father or mother at her side. Set in the violent, complex, and mysterious world of The Murder Complex, and introducing Meadow Woodson—a teenage girl trained to survive no matter what the cost—and her family, who are together for the last time on their houseboat in the Florida Everglades.

The Giveaway:


  1. Amazing blog tour post sweetie. <3 Thank you both so much for sharing :D

  2. I totally love the names for Meadow and Zephyr! And I loved the Fear Trials, so I hope I'll also love The Murder Complex!!
    Great post, Alyssa!

    1. Yes! And I have not read The Fear Trials, actually, but I'm so glad to hear that you loved the novella! Good things, Pili. Thank you so much!

  3. I would pick a sniper type gun. They would definitely have to teach about guns, don't now much!!!


I love comments! I will always try and reply to your comments, as well as leave some comment love on your blog! :)

Also, this an award and tag free blog. While I am flattered that you would think of me, I really do not have the time to follow up. Thank you!