Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (#64): The Perilous Sea by Sherry Thomas


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


This week, I'm featuring:


The Perilous Sea by Sherry Thomas
Book Two of the Elemental trilogy
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: September 16, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads):

From acclaimed author Sherry Thomas comes the striking sequel to The Burning Sky, book two in the Elemental Trilogy, for fans of Cinda Williams Chima, Rae Carson, and Kristin Cashore.

After spending the summer away from each other, Titus and Iolanthe (still disguised as Archer Fairfax) are eager to return to Eton College to resume their training to fight the Bane. Although no longer bound to Titus by a blood oath, Iolanthe is more committed than ever to fulfilling her destiny—especially with the agents of Atlantis quickly closing in.

Soon after arriving at school, though, Titus makes a shocking discovery, one that makes him question everything he previously believed about their mission. Faced with this devastating realization, Iolanthe is forced to come to terms with her new role, while Titus must choose between following his mother's prophecies—and forging a divergent path to an unknowable future.

Sherry Thomas brings her trademark blend of dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and exciting action in this striking sequel to The Burning Sky.




Because, you know, I LOVED the first book in this series. AND THIS COVER AHHH! And I love historical fantasy. And I have two copies of book two. And I will do just about anything for an ARC of this precious. DO YOU SEE, I MUST HAVE IT!!! :D

46 comments:

  1. I don't even know to add aside from EXCESSIVE FLAILING!! WE NEED THIS BOOKKKKKK.

    (Also, I'd have you note how awesome I am and commented first. MUAHAHAHA. This is a point of pride.)

    My WoW!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hahaha yes! There is not enough amounts of excitement that can convey how important this book! And I'm proud of you ;D

      Delete
  2. I need to read the first one!!! Aah, it's been sitting on my Kindle for a few months and I just haven't gotten round to it, but both of them look amazing! Great pick :)

    My WoW .
    Zareena @ Books and Books

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You must you must you must GO DO IT NOW!

      Delete
  3. I'm DYING for this book. Truly dying. Great pick. <3 I hope you will love it as well :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh wow. Haven't heard of this one but now I got to look into it!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You should! I'm sure you've seen the first one around.

      Delete
  5. LOVE the cover! Sounds like a great fantasy read too! September is a long wait!

    Here’s My WoW!
    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You are so right - September is like FOREVER away ;D

      Delete
  6. I remember seeing the burning sky going around a lot awhile ago, but I never got the chance to check it out. I hope you enjoy this whenever you get the chance to read it :)

    Janina
    My WoW!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's such an amazing book, Janina! Thank you ^_^

      Delete
  7. I've never heard of this series. Sounds interesting! Here mine: <a href="http://www.thecovercontessa.com/2014/03/waiting-on-wednesday.html> WOW The Cover Contessa </a>

    ReplyDelete
  8. I haven't heard of this series before. I hope you enjoy reading it!
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  9. I still need to read The Burning Sky, but man. Those covers are absolutely gorgeous. I love a good historical fantasy! I'm pretty sure you'll get an ARC somehow, but I'm still crossing my fingers for you. :)

    Here's my WoW.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They are so beautiful! I hope you read this series, Kaitlin - it's one of my favorites (so far). Thank you so so so much! That means a lot to me <3

      Delete
  10. I need this book if not for anything else but the cover alone although I should really get the first book first. Thanks for sharing :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You definitely want these books on your shelf, for the cover alone! The content is pretty amazing too ;) You're welcome!

      Delete
  11. I still need to read The Burning Sky!! Damn it!! And look at that gorgeous gorgeous cover!! *added to TBR list*
    Great pick, Alyssa!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. YOU MUST READ IT! Pili, the series is awesome and the covers are fantastic and ahhhhh! Go go go!

      Delete
  12. I love the cover but not sure this is for me though. Thanks for sharing.

    Check out our WOW.

    Also check out our Kindle Giveaway along with OUAT 4 year Giveaway and Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover giveaway.

    Leydy @OUaT & RCE

    ReplyDelete
  13. I hadn't heard about this series before, but I just added the first book, The Burning Sky, to my TBR list. :) I hope I'll like it as much as you did!

    ReplyDelete
  14. ME TOO! I think I'd do anything short of signing over my soul or doing bodily harm to someone to get my hands on an ARC of this book.

    ReplyDelete
  15. This cover is definitely to die for! I'm upset that I haven't read the first book yet :(

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you do at some point, Liza! It's so great ^_^

      Delete
  16. LOVE these covers! I haven't read book one yet though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Weelllll, if you happen upon an ARC... ;)

      Delete
  17. I haven't read this series yet, but I think the cover alone is enough to entice me! Thanks for sharing!

    Cyn @ Bookmunchies

    ReplyDelete
  18. Love the cover. hope you get to read it soon.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Sherry I freaking brilliant. I mean really??? The first page of The Burning Sky alone was EPIC!! Hope you get your hands on it soon. (I'll be right behind you.)

    Misty @ KindleObsessed

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sherry *is* brilliant.

      *sigh* I hate my fingers. They betray me.

      Delete
  20. I REMEMBER YOU LOVED THE FIRST. Can't say I'm the same, but I love the cover and now feel like I MUST read it lol

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. YES! And haha, I hope you love it as well.

      Delete
  21. Yeaaaaaaaaaah! I can't wait for this one!!!! I loved The Burning Sky! :)

    ReplyDelete
  22. I heard amazing things about The Burning Sky, and I really love the sound of it. I hope I'll find some time to read it. I hope you enjoy the sequel!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is sooo good! Definitely one of my favorite books of 2013. Thank you so much, Anatea!

      Delete
  23. I haven't actually read The Burning Sky but this sounds brilliant!! I also love the cover; it's gorgeous. I'm gonna go check out TBS ^__^

    - Sam @ Falling Books

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is really brilliant, and the covers are so amazing! I hope you read and enjoy both books, Sam :)

      Delete

I love comments! I will always try and reply to your comments, as well as leave some comment love on your blog! :)

Also, this an award and tag free blog. While I am flattered that you would think of me, I really do not have the time to follow up. Thank you!